Santa Monica
Traditional Reporting for A Digital Age

Santa Monica Real Estate Company, Roque and Mark
2802 Santa Monica Blvd.
Santa Monica, CA 90404

Home Special Reports Archive Links The City Commerce About Contacts Editor Send PR

Council Candidates Hold Positions

Bob Kronovetrealty
We Love Property Management Headaches!

Santa Monica

Santa Monica Apartments

Santa Monica College
1900 Pico Boulevard
Santa Monica, CA 90405
(310) 434-4000


By Jorge Casuso

November 10, 2020 -- With little more than 1,000 ballots left to count, three challengers and one incumbent have sealed their wins in the race for four City Council seats.

After 755 ballots were counted Tuesday, Phil Brock leads with 18,930 votes, nearly 1,100 votes more than second-place finisher Gleam Davis, with 17,835 votes.

Challengers Christine Parra and Oscar de la Torre secured their third and fourth spots with 17,665 and 17,236 votes respectively.

Para, a new-comer to local politics, closed to within 170 votes of a second-place finish.

Incumbent Terry O'Day trails de la Torre by more than 1,000 votes with 16,103 votes, followed by incumbents Ted Winterer and Ana Jara with 15,764 and 14,947 respectively.

Incumbent Kristen McCowan has 31,657 votes in the uncontested race for a two year Council seat.

The 755 votes tallied by the LA County Registrar Tuesday were among 895 provisional ballots and an estimated 879 Vote-by-Mail (VBM) ballots outstanding as of Monday, said Santa Monica City Clerk Denise Anderson-Warren.

That would leave some 1,019 ballots left to count, as well as any ballots postmarked November 3 that hadn't reached the Registrars office.

The next vote tally is scheduled for Friday at 1 p.m., Anderson-Warren said.

A total of 54,639 ballots have been counted in the Council race, which included a record 21 candidates.

There are 71,970 registered voters in Santa Monica, according to the County Registrar's office.

Back to Lookout News copyrightCopyright 1999-2020 All Rights Reserved. EMAIL Disclosures